Erickson now makes three Alliance head coaches to the College Football Hall of Fame

Erickson now makes Three Alliance Head Coaches to the College Football Hall of Fame

By Dylan Rubino

SAN ANTONIO – Coaching always matters and now the Alliance of American Football has three head coaches in the College Football Hall of Fame.

Salt Lake Stallions head coach Dennis Erickson was selected to the College Football Hall of Fame Monday morning, and now joins fellow head coaches Mike Singletary (Memphis Express) and Steve Spurrier (Orlando Apollos) in Atlanta.

From college to the National Football League, the three men have left their own signature mark on the game on all levels and are now are looking to  nurture young men on the football field for The Alliance.

“It just adds credibility to what this league is trying to do and show what this league is about,” Singletary said. “Any type of honor or anything like that, it just sheds light on what we’re trying to do here.”

Erickson is joined by former Pittsburgh Steeler Troy Polamalu, who is currently The Alliance’s Head of Player Relations, as one of the 13 members inducted into the 2019 class on Monday.

Polamalu is assigned to take care of the players during and after their careers and help every player grow in The Alliance. His efficacious personality and tenacity on the football field as a USC Trojan put him in the college football elite.

“I’m very humbled and I greatly appreciate the honor of being named to the College Football Hall of Fame,” Polamalu said.

As an offensive mind, Erickson made his way from Idaho to multiple teams in Pac-12 Conference. Erickson also spent time with the San Francisco 49ers (2003-04) and Seattle Seahawks (1995-98) before joining with the Alliance. His fellow Alliance head coaches took notice early on in his coaching career and have admired him from afar.

“I can’t say his praises enough from the standpoint that he understood how to empty the backfield and how to throw the football up the field with the quarterbacks,” Atlanta Legends head coach Brad Childress said. “He was outstanding in those areas.”

In 25 years coaching at the collegiate level, Erickson would go 179-96 in career wins. His accolades include being named Pac 12 Coach of the Year (1988, 2000, 2007) along with winning two National Championships (1989, 1991).

“I’ve known his name for a while and been around him for a long time,” Singletary said. “I know he’s a great coach and I’m very happy for him. That’s always a great opportunity.”

There is no shortage of experience within the league front office and coaching staff and that is something to help build credibility. The players are feeding off the lessons and experiences that each head coach gives to them.

Having three head coaches now enshrined in college football lore can only be positive for the league going forward.

“I think it just adds more credibility to our already experienced staff and league,” said Player Relations Executive, Hines Ward. “Our league will be unlike any other in that we have experienced personnel in all positions from management on down. It’s going to be exciting and we can’t wait to begin writing history.”